National Religious Leaders Stand With Planned Parenthood

In September of 2015, 44 nationally recognized religious leaders released this joint statement supporting Planned Parenthood and urging Congress to resist efforts to deny federal funding to Planned Parenthood’s health centers – which serve 2.7 million people each year. Together, these Christian, Jewish, Catholic, Unitarian Universalist, and Muslim leaders agreed:

“As religious leaders, we urge Congress to resist efforts to deny federal funds to Planned Parenthood’s non-profit health centers, and other organizations that provide crucial reproductive health care. We ask for an end to politically motivated attacks on women’s sexual and reproductive health. We know that Planned Parenthood provides essential lifesaving services to almost three million people each year, including the most vulnerable families in the U.S. As religious leaders, we support family planning as a means of saving lives, improving reproductive and public health, enhancing sexuality, and encouraging intentional parenthood. We stand with people of faith who have supported Planned Parenthood for nearly one hundred years.”

Imam Daayiee Abdullah
Executive Director
MECCA Institute and Light of Reform Mosque

Rabbi Jon Adland
Clergy Advocacy Board, PPFA

Rev. Steven Baines
Assistant Field Director of Religion Outreach
American United for Separation of Church and State

Rev. Dr. Lee Barker
Meadville Lombard Theological School

Rev. Elder Pat Bumgardner
Executive Director
Global Justice Institute, Metropolitan Community Churches

Dr. Miguel A. De La Torre
Professor of Social Ethics and Latino/a Studies
Iliff School of Theology

Rev. Ronald J Degges
Disciples Home Missions, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

Rev. Dr. John C. Dorhauer
General Minister and President
United Church of Christ

Rabbi Denise Eger
Central Conference of American Rabbis

Mr. Jim FitzGerald
Executive Director
Call To Action

Rev Dr. Yvette Flunder
Presiding Bishop
The Fellowship of Affirming Ministries

Rev. Dr. Marie Fortune
Founder and Senior Analyst
FaithTrust Institute

Dr. William A. Graham
Former Dean; Murray A. Albertson Professor of Middle Eastern Studies in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Harvard University

Rabbi Rick Jacobs
Union for Reform Judaism

Sister Jeannine Gramick, SL
National Coalition of American Nuns
National Coordinator

Rev. Dr. Larry Greenfield
Executive Minister
American Baptist Churches of Metro Chicago

Rev. Debra W. Haffner
President and CEO
Religious Institute

Rev. Cedric A. Harmon
Many Voices: A Black Church Movement for Gay and Transgender Justice

Dr. Mary E. Hunt
Women’s Alliance for Theology, Ethics and Ritual (WATER)

Rev. Mark C. Johnston, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Open & Affirming Ministry Program
Gay Lesbian and Affirming Disciples Alliance

Rev. Dr. Serene Jones
Union Theological Seminary in the City of New York

Rev. Pamela RW Kandt
Episcopal Women’s Caucus

Ms. Nancy K. Kauffman
National Council of Jewish Women

Rev. Marti Keller
Affiliated Minister
Unitarian Universalist Women’s Federation

Rev. Harry Knox
President and CEO
Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice

Rabbi Debra Kolodny
Executive Director

Rabbi Michael Lerner
The Network of Spiritual Progressives

Rabbi Sue Levi Elwell, PhD.
Scholar in Residence
Washington Hebrew Congregation

Rev. Barry Lynn
Executive Director
Americans United for Separation of Church and State

Rev. Rodney McKenzie, Jr.
Director, Faith Work
National LGBTQ Task Force

Mr. Alex Patchin McNeill
Executive Director
More Light Presbyterians

Ms. Ruth W. Messinger
American Jewish World Service

Rev. Peter Morales
Unitarian Universalist Association

Rev. Dr. Timothy Murphy
Executive Director
Progressive Christians Uniting

Rabbi Jonah Pesner
Director, Religious Action Center
Union for Reform Judaism

Mr. Chett Pritchett
Executive Director
Methodist Federation for Social Action

Mr. Jon O’Brien
Catholics for Choice

Rabbi Dennis S. Ross
Concerned Clergy for Choice

Rev. Michael Schuenemeyer
Executive and Minister for Health and Wholeness Advocacy
United Church of Christ

Rev. Dr. Emilie M. Townes
Dean, E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Professor of Womanist Ethics and Society
Vanderbilt University Divinity School

David Vásquez-Levy
Pacific School of Religion

Rev. Dr. Sharon E. Watkins
General Minister and President
Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

Rev. Elder Nancy Wilson
Metropolitan Community Churches

Dr. Marilyn Wind
Chair, Public Policy & Advocacy
Women’s League for Conservative Judaism

Imam Ani Zonneveld
Muslims for Progressive Values

Posted in Social Statements.