Preaching and Congregational Resources for Responding to Racism, White Supremacy, and Police Violence

General Anti-Racism Resources

Black Lives Matter Fall 2016 Syllabus http://www.blacklivesmattersyllabus.com/fall2016/

A Vision for Black Lives: Policy Demands for Black Freedom, Power, and Justice https://policy.m4bl.org

“The Five Things I Need From White People Right Now,” by Derrick L. Weston https://derricklweston.com/2016/09/20/the-five-things-i-need-from-white-people-right-now/

Anti-Racism Resources Collected by Rev Gal Blog Pals  http://us3.campaign-archive1.com/?u=c0807dddec356f1ff98667d7c&id=52833e8e03&e=%5BUNIQID%5D

Anti-Racism Preaching Resources

Preaching Reflections on Michael Brown and Ferguson http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rev-dr-eric-d-barreto/preaching-reflections-on-michael-brown_b_5682974.html

“Black Bodies, White Souls” by Austin Channing, http://austinchanning.com/blog/2014/8/bodies-souls

Emily Scott on Preaching on Ferguson and How to Begin http://sitandeat.typepad.com/blog/2014/11/preaching-while-white-why-you-need-to-preach-on-ferguson-and-how-to-begin.html

“Preaching in the Shadow of the Trayvon Martin Verdict,” https://www.washingtonpost.com/national/on-faith/commentary-preaching-in-the-shadow-of-the-trayvon-martin-verdict/2013/07/16/58696228-ee40-11e2-bb32-725c8351a69e_story.html

“Why I Fear the Post-Trayvon Martin Sermon” http://religiondispatches.org/why-i-fear-the-post-trayvon-martin-sermon/

Resources on Preaching on Racism https://politicaleconomyofmisery.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/resources-for-preaching-on-racism.pdf

McMickle, Marvin A. Where Have All the Prophets Gone? Reclaiming Prophetic Preaching in America. Cleveland: Pilgrim Press, 2006.

Cannon, Katie. “Womanist Interpretation and Preaching in the Black Church.” In Katie’s Canon: Womanism and the Soul of the Black Community. New York: Continuum, 1995: 113-121.

Flake, Elaine M. God In Her Midst: Preaching Healing to Wounded Women. Valley Forge, PA: Judson Press, 2007.

Crass, Chris. Towards the “Other America”: Anti-Racist Resources for White People Taking Action for Black Lives Matter. Download the free e-book here: http://www.chriscrass.org/books.html

Denominational Racial Justice Resources

UCC Resources on Racial Justice http://www.ucc.org/justice_racism

UUA Black Lives Matter Resources: http://www.uua.org/worship/collections/black-lives-matter

Religious Action Center for Reform Judaism Racial Justice Resources http://www.rac.org/racial-justice

United Methodist Resources on Race and Ethnicity http://www.gcorr.org/category/resource-topics/race-and-ethnicity-resource-topics/

MCC Racial Reconciliation Resources http://mccchurch.org/resources/racial-reconciliation-docs/racial-reconciliation/

Presbyterian Church (USA) Resources for Antiracism Work https://www.pcusa.org/site_media/media/uploads/racialjustice/pc(usa)_resources_for_antiracism_work.pdf

ELCA Racial Justice Resources https://www.elca.org/Resources/Racial-Justice

Disciples of Christ Reconciliation Ministry Resources http://reconciliationministry.org/resources/

The Episcopal Church Anti-Racism Resources http://www.episcopalchurch.org/library/topics/anti-racism

Roman Catholic Resources on Racism http://www.usccb.org/issues-and-action/human-life-and-dignity/racism/index.cfm

White Supremacist Violence in Charlottesville 

UVA Graduate Coalition, “The Charlottesville Syllabus” https://medium.com/@UVAGSC/the-charlottesville-syllabus-9e01573419d0

Sonali Kohl, “How to talk to your kids about the violence in Charlottesville” http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-ln-charlottesville-talking-to-kids-20170812-htmlstory.html

Lily Herman, “We Need to Talk About the Anti-Semitism on Display At the Charlottesville Protest” http://www.refinery29.com/2017/08/167810/anti-semitism-charlottesville-protest

Jemar Tisby, “After Charlottesville Will White Pastors Finally Take Racism Seriously” https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/acts-of-faith/wp/2017/08/12/after-charlottesville-will-white-pastors-finally-take-racism-seriously/?utm_term=.4a943feb957d

David Potter, “White Supremacy Will Not Win Here: People of Faith to Counter-protest Atl-Right Rally in Charlottesville” https://sojo.net/articles/white-supremacy-will-not-win-here-people-faith-counter-protest-alt-right-rally

Emma Green, “How Will the Church Reckon With Charlottesville?” https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2017/08/will-the-church-reckon-with-charlottesville/536718/

Sunnivie Brydum (interviewing Robyn Henderson-Espinoza), “Dispatch from Charlottesville: ‘It was a war zone. It felt like there were a million nazis.” http://religiondispatches.org/dispatch-from-charlottesville-it-was-a-war-zone-it-felt-like-there-were-a-million-nazis/

Connecting Police Violence and Reproductive Justice

Renee Bracey Sherman, “The Right to (Black) Life” https://www.nytimes.com/2017/08/09/opinion/michael-brown-anniversary-black-mothers.html?_r=1

“Unjust: How the Broken Criminal Justice System Fails LGBT People of Color” http://lgbtmap.org/criminal-justice-poc.

Leslie Watson Malachi, “Police Violence is a Reproductive Justice Issue” http://www.cosmopolitan.com/politics/news/a61507/police-violence-reproductive-justice/

Dani McClain, “The Murder of Black Youth Is a Reproductive Justice Issue” https://www.thenation.com/article/murder-black-youth-reproductive-justice-issue/

Brianna Nicole Cox, “What Police Violence and Rape Culture Have in Common” http://www.bustle.com/articles/171413-what-police-violence-rape-culture-have-in-common

Monica Simpson, “Reflections from SisterSong’s Monica Simpson on the shooting of Alton Sterling” http://myemail.constantcontact.com/Alton-Sterling-.html?soid=1102470515351&aid=0ryxay32h2A 

Religious Reflections on the Deaths of Terence Crutcher, Keith Lamont Scott, Alton Sterling, and Philando Castile

“Lamentation from a Tulsa Highway: A Statement on the Sanctity of Black Lives,” http://www.believeoutloud.com/latest/lamentation-tulsa-highway-statement-sanctity-black-lives

Emilie Townes, “The Problem We All Live With: Bearing Witness, But Never Finding Justice” http://religiondispatches.org/the-problem-we-all-live-with-bearing-witness-but-never-finding-justice/

RevGalBlogPals, “The Pastoral Is Political: Black Lives Matter,” https://revgalblogpals.org/2016/07/11/the-pastoral-is-political-black-lives-matter/

Anthea Butler, “The Fire This Time,” http://religiondispatches.org/the-fire-this-time/

Will Gafney, “11th Hour Preach Party: #what2preach when blood is running in the streets,” https://revgalblogpals.org/2016/07/08/11th-hour-preacher-party-what2preach-when-blood-is-running-in-the-streets/

David Gushee on Alton Sterling, Philandro Castile, and Romans 13 http://religionnews.com/2016/07/07/alton-sterling-philando-castile-government-terror/

Dr. Yolanda Pierce, “A Litany For Those Who Aren’t Ready for Healing”  http://kineticslive.com/2014/11/28/a-litany-for-those-who-arent-ready-for-healing%E2%80%8F/

This is a working list of resources. They will continue to be updated.
Please contact us at info@religiousinstitute.org if you have any suggestions.

Posted in Uncategorized.